Asking for help

Tags : None
  • Hello all! My name is Melissa. I live in Seattle, WA. I'm a 38 year old single female. I have 1 child, a 18 year old daughter, and I'm a full-time college student. I'm currently in my last year of school for my bachelors degree in Criminal Justice/Criminology. I'm sharing this information about myself with you all to hopefully get a little acquainted and humbly ask for some feedback from you all. And please, if you have anything you would like to ask me, please don't hesitate.

I'm coming from a place of compassion, so I will try my best to pick my words respectfully.

In all honesty, I don't know the least bit about what it would be like to be transgender. I know what transgender is from different sources, such as news, internet, and TV, but I don't know what the experience is like. I know there are many people who can be cruel and label transgenders as "freaks" or "sexual deviants". And that is pure ignorance, hate, and fear. I sympathize as a human being who feels and cares.

Because of these "labels" transgenders live with and depending on what experiences each of you have had, I'm graciously asking if any of you would be able to provide feedback for me on a few criminal justice questions for one of my classes I am currently taking? I feel that you are a group of people whose opinions and thoughts should be taken seriously, especially since you are unfairly labeled. This is all anonymous, no names used. 

What are your perceptions of sex offenders?

Does your perception change depending on the actual crime? Why or why not?

Does your perception change if it's an offense against a child? Why or why not?

Due to the stigma/labels you may experience as a transgender, does this influence or impact how you perceive sexual offenders? Why or why not?

Do you think it's beneficial for society to have sex offenders registered? Why or why not?

Sincerely,

Melissa

October 24, 2016 7:45 AM BST