Forum » Gender Society Public Forums » Make-Up Tips » Good and bad hair days

Good and bad hair days

Tags : None
  • Rather than detract from the latest makeup thread I thought it would be nice to talk about those good and bad hair days and maybe what products help with what.

I have really fine hair and it has been a challenge for me to keep volume in it throughout the day. Living along the southeast coast of the U.S, my hair faces wind, extreme humidity, and for a no better name, morning hair. Yesterday I had my hair done and the gal who has been taking care of my hair for over a year now commented on how much better it felt and looked. I've been growing it out for about 1 1/2 years now and through trial and error I have learned it is all about "products." My experience has been shampoos don't vary much beyond the ones designed for deep cleaning and more moderate ones. Conditioners possibly add some benefit even if it is only to make brushing later more manageable. But the products that have made the most difference in styling my hair are ones put in after I towel dry. First off, I gently towel dry then I use a plumping cream from Sunsilk called "daring Volume." Next for me I wrap my hair in a turban and go to work on my face. When I get back to my hair it is usually barely moist. While hanging my head down, I spread my hair in several places and spray Suave Professional Root Lifter Spray Gel directing it more towards the roots. I then work it through with my fingers. Probably the best hair tools a woman can have is an assortment of round brushes. Take my word for it, life is much better with a round brush, lol. I use a high wattage Ion blow dryer for drying my hair. While hanging my head down, I brush my hair wrapping it around the large round brush. I do this along the sides, back and top. A variety of angles ranging from horizontal to vertical will allow the hair to cross over other hair and help with creating volume. After drying the entire head, I then put m