High heels fit

Tags : None
  • I was wondering if any of you girls out there could help me. I'm new to the transgender world, and recently bought my first pair of heels-the ones that appear as my photo. My men's shoe size is 81/2 - 9M, and depending on the shoe, I've worn sizes from 8M to 91/2M. In my heeled cowboy boots, I've always worn a size 81/2M. When purchasing my high heels, I assumed I would fit into a size 10-11 shoe, but these sizes swam on my foot. Surprisingly, the heels I purchased are a 4" size 9M, which are a little snug down by my toes and the sides of my feet. I do have a slim foot. When standing or sitting for some time in these heels, I sometimes get a tingling sensation running up my feet. I've only been wearing these heels this past week, and for about a total of 5 hrs. Is this feeling normal for high heels, and do they fit right? When I walk, my foot doesn't slip out at all, but if I bend my leg like I was going to kneel, my heel slips a little, so I don't think I would have gone any larger in size. I do wear pantyhose with these shoes. Also, what kind of heels did I purchase? Are they pumps, platforms or platform pumps? Please help me!!!
      November 20, 2010 9:28 PM GMT
  • Hi Amanda,

I'd say in my experience, a men's US size 8 1/2 is probably a women's 10 or 10 1/2. Also depends on the manufacturer and style of the shoe.
    (
    I wear a men's 10 1/2, and for sneakers, pumps or boots, I usually wear a size 12, but sometimes an 11 1/2 or a 12 1/2 fit better (if I can find them - rarer than hen's teeth...)

GG's feet are (proportionately) shorter in length, wider in the front part of the foot and narrower in the heel.

If the worst you get with 4" heels is a tingling, count yourself very lucky, Most GG's (and TG's) would be in total pain after a couple of hours

The picture is definitely a "platform pump" - the raised area under the front of the foot is a "platform" which makes it easier to walk with a very high heel.

Best,
    Mellie