Forum » Gender Society Public Forums » General Forum » The Tao of Transgenderism

The Tao of Transgenderism

Tags : None
  • The Tao of Transgenderism

As a college teacher, I often do a course called Critical Thinking. I enjoy the exchanges that take place in the classroom, reading student views on controversial topics, and learning how other people view the world. I do love studying schools of thought and how they have influenced the world. From Descartes to Hegel to Marx, and so many others, critical thinking helps us to develop into more open-minded individuals.

Over the past few months the Tranny Tribune has published some pieces, written by myself and others, in hopes of starting various dialogs within our community. This month is no exception. I want us to put back on our philosopher caps.
    We have had many discussions in the Forums, blogs and chatroom over what it means to be transgendered. While we all agree (well, most of us), that this is how we were born, there are many aspects to being TG that often meets with debate. We have been down this road before – is a TS more transgendered that a CD, is a post-op TS more sincere than those who choose not to have surgery, etc.?

But we often don’t recognize that we can establish our own little philosophy, our own way of thinking and approaching the world in which we live. What can make this fun, along with the other dialogs we have started, is seeing how many different ways we can take our burgeoning school of thought. So, in keeping with certain terms that are very familiar, shall we call this “The Tao of Transgenderism?”

Reaching back to ancient Chinese history, the Tao (pronounced DOW) signifies something that cannot be seen, felt or tasted, yet exists everywhere. The goal was to become one with the Tao. This is quite similar to Hinduism and Buddhism whereby adherents try to reach a purer state of being. So as we begin to take baby steps in discovering the Tao, here are some ideas to consider: