Forum » Gender Society Public Forums » General Forum » Astronomy Geeks R US

Astronomy Geeks R US

Tags : None
  • Hello All - This is a topic being started by Briana Q and deals with Astronomy. Julia noted she was interested and may bring along some of her astro photos. I have some pictures as well to bring along - none very good, mind you - I am an extreme rookie in this. I have used a 4" schmidt-cassegrain telescope connected to an eyepiece that sends the image to my laptop. 
    As to the topic of Astronomy : I think and feel it can be about the backyard astronomer, if interested - things we love to look for, do, some of our highlights, hopes, and efforts. It can also be about the subject of astronomy - which deals with many areas of physics, chemistry, mathematics, and has an integral part in history as well with many notable icons such as Galileo, Kepler, Newton, and Einstein. So the range of topics can be what strikes one's fancy in the celestial realm - perhaps even sharing or commenting on the latest news in the mainstream. 
    As to my intrests, they date back to childhood where I developed a very early interest in the subject matter and have read a large number of books on the subject since that time to the present. My favoirtes are : Cosmos by Carl Sagan - and I grew up watching that series, Stephen Hawking's books, and Brian Cox's books as well.
    I have several telescopes - two solar ones, and the aforementioned 4" and its bigger family member the 8" model as well. 
    Last year I had the pleasure of watching live the Venus transit through the 4" scope with a solar filter as one of my highlights in my observing times.