Mixing with society

• 1912 posts
    November 1, 2008 8:57 PM GMT
    Various forum threads have brought up interesting discussions on whether or not transsexuals should blend into society norms or maybe we should push society to accept us however we choose to express ourselves. I am talking about how we live our everyday lives. What I would like to do is have an anonymous poll posing those options. If someone would like to comment, that would also be welcome. Also I want this poll open to all TG, not just TS. So cross your fingers and see if this works right, lol.

How do you believe transsexuals should mix into society?
    1: They should blend in with society norms
    2: We should encourage society to let us express ourselves however we choose
    3: none of the above
    • 1912 posts
    November 1, 2008 9:14 PM GMT
    Uhm, lol, don't blame me, I'm not a software engineer.

As for me I think we should blend into society norms. I think if you look at other ethnic groups with far greater numbers then us, you will find they have a hard time being accepted as they are into society. ie, muslims. Therefore I believe the more we can blend in the better in the long run we will be accepted.

Hugs,
    Marsha

• 1912 posts
    November 2, 2008 12:48 AM GMT
    That's an interesting way of putting it Lucy. You got me thinking about how it really comes down to your personality and what you can handle. If you don't mind people asking why you look or act the way you do, then blending into society really isn't necessary. But on the otherhand if you can't handle confrontation or mere questions about your behavior, blending in with society is probably your best bet. Neither is more right or more wrong, just what suits an individual the best. I think it comes down to us figuring out what is best for us and not expecting society to make the adjustment. My opinon is anyone waiting for society to adjust will have a long wait.

Hugs,
    Marsha

• 23 posts