Forum » Gender Society Public Forums » Coming Out » Better then expected

Better then expected

Tags : None
  • Well last week I told my mother. I have spent several years starting conversations with family and friends to feel out their reactions to those they may consider different or unusual. Since I am majoring in Psychology and Sociology with emphasis on gender and violence it has been pretty easy to cover the true nature of the conversation. With my mother this is the only thing I have kept from her and she is the second person I have told, the first being my wife prior to getting married. She took it surprisingly well. I guess I was worried for no reason. She even offered when the time comes she will help me tell my father and brother if I need the help. Those two hard going to be the hardest I think. For me the most important thing was to let my mother know. In addition two of my wife and mine friends also know (my wife told both of them after asking me first.) One of which we had to tell before he moved in with us to avoid any awkward situations since home is the only place I feel comfortable dressing at this time. I feel a lot better that my wife and mother are supportive, the two friends are supportive as well which is a bonus. Outside of them I don't think I really care what the rest of the world thinks. That being said I'm not quite ready to show the world my true self yet as I am still looking. Next step is finding a therapist who specialized in gender since I am not a therapist, or planning on being one (I prefer research). Besides I also think it is not wise to be your own patient. If anyone has advice on where to start looking for said therapist I would appreciate the help.

P.S. My mother said the name they had picked out for me was Megan and she thought i would be a good name to change to. My wife and I like it as well and it seams to fit a lot better than Ereka so good bye Ereka hello Megan.
      September 19, 2010 10:34 PM BST