Anatomy and the construction "normal" bodies

• 6 posts
    March 13, 2015 8:43 PM GMT

Anatomy is a supposedly stable claim that the body is natural and knowable. This allusion denies the social construction of anatomy over time and within cultures. Anatomical texts construct simplified and universalized models of culturally constructed, binary sexed bodies that strongly shape our understandings of the body and "normal" female and male traits 

The anatomy of the breast as represented by textbooks exemplifies a problem of “normalcy” in anatomical knowledge production and transmission. I am a graduate student in anatomy and couldn't help but notice the severe lack of diversity in ALL of my textbooks. Bodies normally come in all shapes and sizes imaginable, so why are we teaching one body type as the "normal" type? 

In order to graduate, I am required to construct a teaching project.  I decided to write my own text on the human breast, with a focus on breast diversity. One of the first considerations I will make about female sexual anatomy is an acknowledgement that the term “female sexual anatomy” is not unambiguous and people who have anatomy described in a text may not call themselves “female” or “woman”, people who label themselves “women” may or may not have the described anatomy, and people may have parts of “female” sexual anatomy and parts of “male” sexual anatomy. I wanted to come to this site because another aspect of my textbook is combining the biological and the social.  There are souls in bodies and their stories deserve to be heard and as much as their bodies deserve to be seen. I want to not only expand what it means and looks like to have breasts across genders, but also how people of all genders feel about thier breasts. I would truly appreciate any advice, insight, and/or breast stories. 

• March 13, 2015 9:57 PM GMT