I haven't told yet

• May 12, 2003 4:46 AM BST
    I am only 16 and have not come out yet. I have been crossdressing for 8 years privately and desperately seek transition, but I am not homosexual. The biggest problem is I am enrolled in an all boys school. I've heard if I start early I could have normal breasts and feminine features. Anyone have some advice?
    • 539 posts
    May 13, 2003 12:26 AM BST
    Coming out is difficult, and at your age you are probably dependent on your parents. Will they have a problem with this, or are they tolerant? Only you can answer this. If there is a considerable risk of complete rejection then you have a bigger problem. Without their support, transition would be difficult at best - you will probably need to become independent first. Also remember that coming out is irreversible. If you come out and then regret it later, there is no going back.

My family is very tolerant and accepting - I have had no rejection yet, but I realize that I am lucky. Most people are not so tolerant.

See my post on your thread in the "Hormone City" forum for more ideas.

Heather H.
  • May 13, 2003 1:45 PM BST
    CHRIS, YOU NEED TO READ A BOOK BY A WOMAN NAMED JUST EVELYN,SHE WROTE IT ABOUT HER TEENAGE SON AND HOW SHE AND THE FAMILY HELPED HIM TRANSITION .THE NAME OF THE BOOK IS "MOM,I NEED TO BE A GIRL" YOU CAN FIND IT ONLINE IN SEVERAL PLACES AND DOWNLOAD IT FOR FREE OR BUY IT ON LINE AT AMAZON.COM PHYLISS-MARIE P.S YOU COULD BE THE CHILD OF A LOT OF US, THAT'S WHY WE CARE AND WILL ALWAYS GIVE YOU THE BENEFIT OF OUR YEARS
  • May 15, 2003 4:24 AM BST
    Hi Chris!

Without knowing you and your parents I don't feel qualified to offer advice in that way.

However, trying to relate your position to what my own would have been in similar circumstances, I honestly feel I would have waited on my own to see if it was a 'passing phase' before talking to my parents.

I stress though, this is not advice, merely a personally-based comment.