Where do you buy syringe?

• 7 posts
    April 16, 2008 2:33 AM BST
    Hi! I'm Katie, I'm a newbie here, hello everyone.

I've been on hormone for almost 4 years now. I began with the therapy under a nurse, on shots and pills. But I've been moving around, so I had to go self med. I've been buying pills from the Inhouse Pharmacy.

I feel that when I was on shots, my body was more feminine, so I want to start giving myself shots. I know which kind to buy, and I think I know how to do it.

Where do you girls buy the syringes?

• 1912 posts
    April 16, 2008 3:26 AM BST
    Katie, first off welcome to TW. Your simple question is very difficult to answer because the right answers can vary immensely based on where you are located. I live in the U.S. and can drive 2hrs south to another state and buy them at any pharmacy without a prescription, but in the state I live in I cannot buy them, even online, without a prescription. What I am saying is you need to know your local regulations first.

Next, you said you "think" you know how to do it. Giving yourself injections is something that must be done right. I highly recommend that you find yourself a trained professional to show you the proper way. You also mentioned Inhouse pharmacy, their injectable estradiol comes in glass vials that need to be scored and opened. It is imperative you use filter needles when filling the syringe. Are you aware of those requirements?

I won't get upset at you for self medding but I'm sure you know you would be better off having access to a doctor regarding this stuff. I've been there between doctors. As far as injectables, I have a doctor's appointment at 8:45 tomorrow morning for my next shot and I agree with you that injectables seem more effective. The thing is, I would not do injections without a doctor. Pills and patches last days in your system, injections can last several weeks so if you were to have complications, you want a doctor that knows what is going on. My two cents worth.