Photographic Advice

• July 11, 2005 10:28 AM BST
    OK I'm no expert but having wandered through the galleries recently I'd like to pass on a few tips for making the most of your pictures.

Perhaps the hardest thing to get right is the camera position, especially if you don't have a tripod, but ideally you want to get the camera in a position so it is almost looking down slightly on you. This helps reduce the double chins and adam's apple.
    If you don't have a tripod then use a pile of CD cases or books on a table to achieve this, or rest the camera on a shelf whatever gives you enough height. Take a few test pics to check everything is good before starting. Sometimes a coin under the back of the camera is enough to change the angle.

Try to chose a neutral backdrop if you can, like a plain wall or a door as this will concentrate the viewer on the subject ie You. To much clutter in the background distracts from the picture and defeats the purpose. Clutter also reflects and distorts the light, causes wierd shadows and lighting effects so best avoided.
    With lighting it is far better to use natural light where possible, if not possible try to ensure the area you are posing in is lit as much as possible using soft lighting if possible. Harsh lighting washes out colours and isn't nice. Make sure your lighting falls from as many angles as possible to reduce unwanted shadows.
    If your camera has a portrait setting try using it as this will adjust any flash to compensate and should help reduce the risk of red eye. The other way to reduce red eye is not to look directly at the camera, sounds mad but you just look slightly to one side and it changes the line of reflection from the retina - no red eye!