Make Over Lessons

• 195 posts
    November 22, 2002 12:02 AM GMT
    I have had some great experiences in the past week with makeover lessons that I though you might like to hear about

First I had a lesson at Charles Fox with Valme - She's their top make up artist and spends a lot of time working on film sets. I wanted her help in preparing me for my Channel 4 Debut.

Valme is keen in the Fox product DermaColour - Its a great foundation - and very good for a natural look in the day - Lessons at Charles Fox cost £75 for 2 hours and are well worth it - good to take a digital camera and take snaps though the session and make notes - You can also buy all your make up in the shop before you leave - They are in Tavistock Street London. www.charlesfox.co.uk - The bonus for me is that they want to use me as the new Face of Charles Fox in their Tranny Guide ads next year.

I also had another lesson with Jodie Lynn on Saturday - she also uses a lot of Charles Fox Products but mixes in with other top products - Interesting that most make up artists do use top line products all the time - Its really false economy to buy cheap - they just don't do the job properly.

Jodie Charges £85 for a lesson - again about 2 hours - you can also dress there and have a walk about - or go shopping etc - check out http://www.theboudoironline.com.  You can also log on to www.trannylife.com and watch videos of various stages of make up for a few pounds - much cheaper than a live lesson and a good reminder afterwards - or you can buy a CD from the boudior shop.

Is all this worth the investment.

Well when I went along to the BBC studios on Sunday I already had my make up on - By 2 pm when we were sent to make up I had had mine on for 6 hours - the make up artist took one look and said "Fantastic - all I am going to do is touch up a bit".  So yes it is worth it to get professional comments like that from BBC make up artists.