Religion and Politics

• 1083 posts
    February 10, 2003 3:06 PM GMT
    Ladies:

Since I work for a Christian organization, I am very interested in this topic. I'll get into the bulk of this down below.

But I did want to weigh in on this much: We need to fix the public school system . NOW.

I am a survivor product of the California public school system, when it was considered of the better ones--if not the best--in the country.

They spent time trying to not warp my cute little personality. 8)

They spent time trying to make me feel good about myself. ;D

They spent time trying to make me a good citizen.

Get this, please:

WHAT THEY DIDN'T SPEND TIME ON WAS TEACHING ME BASIC STUFF, LIKE ENGLISH, MATH, SCIENCES, AND HISTORY. I was basically self-taught from high school on, because my teachers, by and large, were interested mostly in living one more day, and possibly seeing retirement.

I am not sure that private schools are the answer...but if they teach our kids what they need to live and succeed in today's world, then it's worth the money spent. Oh, and by the way, not all private schools are religious in nature...nor should they be.

Now, for the rest of the story: Stevie has mentioned that the Government shall not have a "state" religion. Nor should we. It is indeed the cornerstone of democracy. It is designed to be freedom OF religion…not FROM religion. You may not agree with my religion…but then I may not agree with yours, either. If one wants to howl at the moon when it’s full and call that their religion, okay. I don’t have to like it, but if that’s your bag, as an American, I will defend your right to do so. (Some would say that, as Trannies, we have our own religion. I’m not going there…for now.)