applying for a job to disclose or not disclose?

• July 31, 2012 4:37 PM BST

Hi after being off work for the last few years due to deppresion im trying to find a job, i have been to college in this time and qulified as a holistic therapist, i now have a problem which i have never encountered before. I have started on hormone therapy and in the process of transitioning i am still living in some what of a male role (not changed my name etc) i am almost now at the stage (i have a carefully laid plan of transitioning) to go full time change my name etc, all my family (bar my very much younger brother) and friends know so no problems their, infact my mum is funding my private health care.

But what do i say in a interview? do i tell them up front? or say nothing get the job prove myself and then tell the employer when i am about to transition? if i follow my qulification and heart i'd be working in beauty salons anyway so would be turning up to the interview with my face done nails done etc so i'm not worried in that industry i went to a hair and beauty college for a year so i feel comfortable in that environment .

But i need a job a.s.a.p so am looking at shop and poss bar work which i think could cause potential problems if i do disclose it may prejidice my application, if i dont (and as at the time of interview i was taking hormones under a dr and knew i would be transitioning very soon) that could cause me problems as i didn't disclose it at the interview. ARRH bit of a minefield the only thing that is actualy causing me worry, comming out didn't, going to drs didnt this is making my brain hurt as i cant decide to disclose or not?

• July 31, 2012 4:54 PM BST